Home is where your heart is.

Being a restless person, is what made me at a young age leave Cape Verde heading to Rio de Janeiro. When you are young everything is easier, since you don’t overthink things, and the good part was that my family always has had my back, even with a big Ocean in the way.

Back then, things weren’t so easy, because the communication wasn’t like today, the internet in Cape Verde was trash, still is in some way, but at least nowadays we can use viber, whatsapp or any other platform to communicate what makes missing my family bearable.

When you are living in a different place, and away from blood family you end up getting emotionally connected to the people, culture and food, you end up getting an emotional bond that will be part of you forever. While you are there bonding, getting to know the place and its people, makes everything easier, specially because you start having friends around. Remember friends are the familly we choose to have.

In my case, I’ve always been a easy going person and made really good friends on the way, that has made me feel good wherever I am. It has always been like that, I’ve always surrounded myself with good people, sometimes not that good (there are always exceptions), but the good ones are the ones who count and the bad ones always teach you something.

Of course there will be those days, you feel alone and nostalgic, but i think you feel that way no matter where you are or the people who are around you, but that’s part of your growth.

When I have faced difficult times, being alone in those moments that I felt like giving up, just by thinking of the love of my family has given me strength to keep on going, and that’s when you realize that home is where your heart is, and my heart is in Cape Verde, Rio and Mexico City with my Cretcheu.

Edino Moniz

“Home is people. Not a place. If you go back there after the people are gone, then all you can see is what is not there any more.” ― Robin Hobb, Fool’s Fate

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

