“Friendship is everything. Friendship is more than talent. It is more than the government. It is almost the equal of family.- Don Corleone (Mario Puzo)”

“Friendship- my definition- is built on two things. Respect and trust. Both elements have to be there. And it has to be mutual. You can have respect for someone, but if you don’t have trust, the friendship will crumble.”

― Stieg Larsson, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

 

You don’t need more clues to know what topic I am sharing with you today, right?.

No, it’s not about awesome movies and the wise quotes in them. But, if you feel like watching both The Godfather and The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo, or even better to read the books, be my guest :).

Today, I am talking about friendship. Because as Edy mentioned, friends are the family we chose. Through our life, we are going to meet “n” amount of persons, and just a few will remain, and be worth to be called our friends.

The difference between a person you want to be involved in a romantic relationship with, and a friend, is that the feelings must be from both sides. I mean, you can be in love with someone, or love someone, but that person is not forced at all to have the same feeling for you. However, in order to call someone a friend, the respect, trust, honesty, love, etc., must be mutual, and this is exactly why friendship is perfect.

In this adventure Edy and I are working on, my friends have been so important, all of them have shown us support, excitement *not only because they want to go to visit*, and when I have had doubts, they have done a very good job cheering me up and reminding me why it is worth, and that everything is going to be amazing. So, I have the best friends, life has made sure to show me that, so, I always do my best to be the best friend for them too.

Some friendships are short, and as in a romantic relationship, ending a friendship is hard, because as I said, you show emotions, you gave trust, respect, and it’s hard to get over any breakup. If you are going through something like that, here it is my advise, let it go, remember the good things, wish the other person the best,  be thankful for the lessons and appreciate the friends you have, because it’s not written in any part how long a friendship lasts.

I have my babes, my bestie, my male friends *who I love so much, because we can curse each other with not hard feelings, and laugh*. I will miss all of them like you have no idea, but I know that our friendship will survive any location.

Cheers for the friends, let’s drink for that 🙂

Ana Baltazar

“The capacity for friendship is God’s way of apologizing for our families.”

Jay McInerney, The Last of the Savages

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

