Soccer in the Garden

“All grown-ups were once children… but only few of them remember it.”
– Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

May 2014

Only a few months after I got to Mexico, there was a family reunion.

I have to say, that they are a very united family, everything is an excuse for them to get together for lunch, not only Christmas, birthdays, holy weeks, father’s day, mother’s day, every single holiday of something, there is lunch together at grandma’s house. One of the first times I went to a family reunion with Ana’s family, after lunch, someone came up with a ball. I don’t remember who was it, or where it got it from, but one of Ana’s cousin started playing with it and before we realize what was happening, one of them came to me to ask if I wanted to play. By then I was just starting to scratch some Spanish, but you know what they say, football is a universal language.

We played it, in the garden, well over the bricks of the garden, with no worries, like children, made me remember times when I was a kid, back there in Cape Verde, we used to play in the street. We would put rocks as the goal and we would just pay attention to when cars or women would pass so we could stop the game.

That day I realized the importance of family in Mexico, and not only the home family, wife, husbands and sons, but the entire family, grandma, aunts, uncles, cousins,
kind of like in Cape Verde, but different from other countries I have been, where they loose contact with time.

Edino Tavares Moniz

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

